Ostendo Technologies Chip Maker To Make 3D Holographic Smart Devices A Reality – Now The End Begins : Now The End Begins

The Wall Street Journal this week reports that startup Ostendo Technologies in Carslbad, California, has been working on a hologram projector chipset that is no larger than a Tic Tac. The amazing thing about this display is that it requires no bulky special glasses or headsets. The virtual reality that it projects is clearly seen with the naked eye, and it is coming to your smart device sooner rather than later.

http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/blog/?p=22451

Why am I such a prescient little genius all the time?

When people read my show, they sometimes don’t know what to make of it. Is it a diary of my innermost thoughts? Or is it a stylized interaction with my audience?

The best way to conceptualize this low-bandwidth show of mine is to visualize an eight-inch-tall moving hologram of me speaking to you.

As a matter of fact, if some enterprising member of my audience wishes to do so, you may develop a computerized system to render a CGI version of me reading these lines to you. That way you may watch me speak to you. Just have that CGI system automatically take my textual material and convert it into synthetic speech. You have enough video of me to simulate cadence, facial expressions, etc.

I would ask that you add some artistic flourishes to that CGI rendering, such as the occasional bit loss, interference, and the like. I am a man forever pursued by his detractors, after all, so we might expect there to be a bit of jamming and other reduction in quality now and again as I transmit to you from outside the Holodeck.

Leave a Reply

